May, Check. June, Check… Sort Of. July…?

Maybe it’s because I overworked myself in April. Maybe it’s because there’s so much going on in August. But it seems to me the live music schedule for the summer is… rather barren.

Les Claypool of Primus

June only brings us Primus and the Dead Kenny G’s at the Fillmore Miami Beach (6/4) and Black Uhuru at Grand Central (6/15).

August is a monster month for music with Hot Tuna at Revolution Live (8/5), Reel Big Fish and Streetlight Manifesto (8/6) at Revolution Live (some might disagree with me about this show, but I’ll call it my guilty pleasure of the nostalgic variety), two nights of Perpetual Groove at the Culture Room (8/12, 8/13), Slightly Stoopid at Sunset Cove in Boca Raton (8/20) and the IDentity Festival featuring Disco Biscuits, Pretty Lights, Crystal Method, Datsik, Rusko and more at Bayfront Park (8/25).

But what about July?

So far, all that’s gone off on my radar have been local groups playing local shows. Now, that’s nothing to belittle—those local happenings are important and deserve some love, but still.

Oh dear God, please make Britney Spears go away!

Could it be that all we can expect from July 2011 besides the RX Bandits are Britney Spears and Sade?

I sincerely hope something more crops up soon. I would hate to resort to covering garbage concerts just to make a buck in July.

Oh well, perhaps it’s for the best. Maybe I’ll wind up covering Electric Forest and Camp Bisco after all…

-Chris Lazaga

About clazaga5

I am a music writer. I graduated from FIU's School of Journalism and Mass Communications in April, 2011. I've always had a passion for music. Since high school, I've been involved in a few bands and written a good number of original songs. I loved going to shows and seeing live music. So when the notion struck me to combine the two, it seemed only logical that I write about live music when and wherever I find it. This blog is what came of that notion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May, Check. June, Check… Sort Of. July…?

  1. Pingback: Chris’s Picks: June 2011 | Great Music Never Stops

Leave a Reply

