Radio-Active: Weekly Podcast Program, GMNS Radio, Is Online!

The more perceptive folks may have noticed this already. There’s a new section to the website! Great Music Never Stops now hosts its own podcast where the only rule is the tunes must be LIVE.

Instead of taking my voice recorder and recording my own audio of shows I go to for you, I will cease adding to the Audio section and instead focus my efforts on bringing you a quality one-hour weekly program featuring extended jams from live sets. I’ll be delving through recordings upon recordings to bring you the real gems—bands playing rare covers, songs and sets featuring guest players and epic jam sessions that seem to take on lives of their own.

Each week’s show will feature music from groups playing in South Florida in the near future as well as performances from the greats.

This week’s episode, #1: Waiting For Wanee, features Wanee groups Widespread Panic, Ivan Neville’s Dumpstaphunk and The Radiators as well as moe. and Furthur, both of whom are performing in South Florida this week. Also on the program are funk masters, Lettuce, and up-and-comers Dopapod, an instrumental group that takes elements from funk, jam music, prog rock and even dubstep to create a unique sound that is sure to propel them to the top of the jam scene one day.

New episodes will be posted every week on Sunday or Monday, so be sure to check back regularly for another heady dose of the nastiest live jams. Click here to download the first episode. Enjoy!

-Chris Lazaga

 

About clazaga5

I am a music writer. I graduated from FIU's School of Journalism and Mass Communications in April, 2011. I've always had a passion for music. Since high school, I've been involved in a few bands and written a good number of original songs. I loved going to shows and seeing live music. So when the notion struck me to combine the two, it seemed only logical that I write about live music when and wherever I find it. This blog is what came of that notion.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

